MONDAY A.M.

STATE OF ILLINOS)
) SS
COUNTY OF PIATT)

The County Board of Piatt County convened for their Organizational Meeting in the County Board Room in the Courthouse in the City of Monticello, County of Piatt and State of Illinois on Monday, the 5th day of December, A.D. 2022, at the hour of 9 o'clock of the forenoon and was called to order by County Clerk and Recorder Jennifer Harper.

On roll call the following Board Members and County Officers responded: County Board Members, Michael Beem, Todd Henricks, Gail Jones, Kathleen Piatt, and Randy Shumard.; Sheriff Mark Vogelzang, and County Clerk Jennifer Harper. Absent, Jerry Edwards.

ORGANIZATION OF COUNTY BOARD

The Piatt County Board convened in the County Board Room in the Piatt County Courthouse in the City of Monticello for the purpose of organization.

Jones nominated Jerry Edwards for County Board Chair, seconded by Beem. Henricks nominated Randy Shumard for County Board Chair, seconded by Shumard. Piatt nominated Todd Henricks for County Board Chair, seconded by Henricks. There being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

On roll call the vote was as follows for nomination of Edwards: Ayes, Beem and Jones. Nays, Henricks, Piatt, and Shumard. 2 ayes, 3 nays, motion fails.

On roll call the vote was as follows for nomination of Shumard: Ayes, Henricks and Shumard. Nays, Beem, Jones, and Piatt. 2 ayes, 3 nays, motion fails.

On roll call the vote was as follows for nomination of Henricks: Ayes, Beem, Henricks, Piatt, and Shumard. Nays, Jones. 4 ayes, 1 nay, motion carries.

Todd Henricks was elected as Chair of the Piatt County Board for a two-year term ending December 2024.

Chair Henricks called for nominations for Vice-Chair for the Piatt County Board. Jones nominated Jerry Edwards as Vice-Chair, seconded by Beem. There being no further nominations, nominations were closed.

On roll call the vote was as follows for nomination of Edwards: Ayes, Beem, Henricks, Jones, Piatt, and Shumard. 5 ayes, 0 nays, motion carries.

Jerry Edwards was elected as Vice-Chair of the Piatt County Board for a two-year term ending December 2024.

TERMS OF OFFICE FOR BOARD MEMBERS

In accordance with 55 ILCS 5/2-3001, et seq. and Ordinance adopted by the Piatt County Board on the 8th day of December 2021, the members proceeded to draw by district for the two-year and four-year terms of office. Terms drawn were as follows:

District #1	Kathleen Piatt	2-year term
	Jerry Edwards	4-year term
District #2	Gail Jones	2-year term
	R. Michael Beem	4-year term
District #3	Todd C. Henricks	2-year term
	Randy D. Shumard	4-year term

DEFINITION OF COMMITTEE MEETINGS

A list of Piatt County Board Committees was presented and discussed. Chair Henricks directed appointments to 6 committees that were to meet and have claims due before the County Board Meeting on December 14, 2022.

MOTION was made by Piatt, seconded by Henricks to table the Definition of Committee Meetings until the next County Board Meeting. On voice vote, motion carries.

RE-AUTHORIZATION OF COUNTY BY-LAWS

The County Board By-Laws were presented for re-authorization.

MOTION was made by Shumard, seconded by Beem to re-authorize the County Board By-Laws. On roll call the vote was as follows, Ayes, Shumard, Beem, Henricks, Jones, and Piatt. 5 Ayes, 0 nays, motion carries.

ADJOURNMENT

At 9:17 A.M., MOTION was made by Jones, seconded by Beem that the Honorable County Board adjourn to Wednesday, December 14, 2022, at the hour of 9:00 o'clock of the forenoon. On voice vote, motion carried.

Piatt County Clerk & Recorder